And then the Elephants said…

this is an addendum to Possible World Take-Over, found here.

***

I thought the story was done, the issue was closed. Truly I did.  Parker, my black standard poodle, and Blue, the beautiful lab mix had gone on to talk about other things, much more boy dog-pertinent things like, “I can pee higher than you can” or “Did you sniff that??”  or “What treats did you get?”

They seemed utterly unphased by our conversations about dramatic pending changes in the world.

I, on the other hand was having night after night of tossing and turning.  Not worried exactly, but a sense of growing unease.

Then this past Saturday, Parker and I were walking round the blocks in the neighbourhood. He had a good sniff going on in the boulevard grass when suddenly his head jerked way up, snout high in the air. A moment passed.

Then I heard it too. We listened together.

When it was done, I sighed.

Parker’s head was down, his wet nose back in the grass.  Then he stopped, and sat on his haunches, looking at me.

“Wondered if they would call you,” he said.  Of course it did not sound quite like that; his lips can not make the ‘f’ sound.

The  THEY were the elephants. I had purposefully not gone to the zoo to talk with them because in truth, I did not want to know one more kernel of information about what Parker, Blue and Tweety had shared with me.

But I was in the rumble zone of elephant communication, and I heard them.

One ignores the elephants…well, one is never to ignore an elephant. That is a rule.

“C’mon Parks, let’s keep walking,” I said.

Parker was off-lead walking close to my right thigh. He must have sensed my turmoil; he was unusually quiet and kept looking up at me every few minutes.

We did not go home. Instead we went a few doors down into Blue’s backyard, where he was playing with his big blue ball, a ball usually reserved for ponies. He looked up at us as we came through the gate.

“You heard it?” he asked.

“Yes, and I suppose I have to go,” I said, not sure if I was asking or simply stating the obvious.

Blue looked at Parker.  There was a powerful triangle of silence between the three of us; I wanted to step into it and be done with the whole situation entirely.

“Yes, you have to go,” said Blue.

I nodded, then sought out Blue’s owner to see if I could leave Parker with Blue for a few hours. The answer was yes.

“Parks, hang out here with Blue for a while.  I’ll come get you when I’m back.”

Parker sat back, tilting his head giving me his little worried look.  “Okay,” he said.

I first had to stop at my house, get my keys and purse. Tweety was running around the top of his cage all excited. He could barely contain himself.

“Did you hear it..??”

“Yes, Tweets, I heard it.”

“Are you going?”

I nodded,  “Yes I am.”

“Great!” he said. “I can’t wait to hear what else they have to tell you!”  He hung over the edge of his cage; his standard give-my-head-a-kiss position whenever I leave the house for longer than a minute.

I leaned down and kissed his fuzzy little feather head.  Then he went back to running around the top of his cage.

“This is so exciting! It’s going to be important!  I can’t wait!”

My yellow bird IS an excitable little fussbudget.

But he was also often right.

Whatever else the elephants have to share must be important.  When we last talked, before I had Parker, they said they wouldn’t call unless it was important. Of course, I thought I was going a bit insane and that they were having a joke at my expense. Me talking to elephants?  Sure, I can speak and understand the universal language and all, but, elephants? And when I came last time, it was not to talk, it was to be in circle with them.

This was different.  I was being called.

So I drove to the zoo not knowing how I got there. Funny how the mind works sometimes.

After paying my entrance fee, I headed to where the elephants…oh my goodness I could see them as I rounded the corner. They were waiting for something…all five of them lined up along the inside of the fence.

That’s when I realized I wasn’t breathing very well, that my chest was full of feeling and about to burst.

So I stopped…about three metres from the fence where the elephants were all lined up.

“Thank you for coming,” said Maddy, the matriarch. The last time we saw each other was….when we did circle.

As soon as I heard her words, as the feeling of them reached inside my mind, all of my swirling emotions stood still.

I calmed, and walked to the fence. As I reached it, I placed my hands on the rough timber, closed my eyes and opened my heart as five trunks reached out in my direction to feel me.

It is never possible to say how long that exchange lasts. It is a different thing with each animal. But a moment with an elephant is an emotional eternity, incapable of being trapped by words in any language except for the language of the heart.

When they were finished and I could open my eyes, I leaned on the fence and opened my ears ready to hear more of the words and knowledge of the elephants. And as I waited I finally allowed myself to ponder what me, Parker, Blue and Tweety, and many other beasts heard that moment when the elephants rumbled and said:

Nothing that is foretold is a certainty.

I could not wait to hear more.

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And then the Elephants said…

  1. ValerieD says:

    Outstanding 🙂
    I was wondering, as I was making dinner a few minutes ago, if there would be an epilogue to the Possible Word Take-over… This addendum is a real gem.
    The suspense is killing me. I want to hear more too….

Comments are closed.