Life changes

It’s been a long time since I have written anything about espresso or Toronto or espresso in Toronto, which was what I thought I’d write about when I started this blog. Truth is there a good number of blogs that write about coffee and espresso and Toronto, and do it nicely, and because I can’t think of anything different to add — even though there are some crazy cool new cafes opening up and Toronto staged its first ever Slut Walk to protest a statement by a police officer — if there’s nothing meaningful to contribute  to the conversations already underway, I don’t.

And so: the initial vision I held for this blog no longer holds true, which means that its name no longer reflects what the blog is today and what it has evolved into: a place where I recount what I might observe, think, feel; recountings that find their way into written form either as an article or a story, or on occasion, a mix of the two. More recently, it has been about writing, not something I ever wanted to write about. Imagine my surprise when I found that writing about the writering process actually helped the process along.

The wonderful thing about life is how it changes. The sad thing about life is how it changes. It’s hard sometimes to stare the truth of that matter in the eyes: some things are simply a reflection of a moment of time, a moment in a life: like this blog. I stress about not writing and publishing posts for it. That’s not good. It feels like a weight and a burden and it ought not to be that way. It suggests a rethink and perhaps doing something entirely different.

And so: Espresso Swirl is closing down.

For those of you who’ve been supportive and encouraging, thank you. It means the world to me that you took time from your life to read the bits that I threw together.

Be well.

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life changes

  1. Tony says:

    Adieu, espresso swirl. I hope that your writering will resurface in some other form or forum, so I look forward to that… Abbracci

  2. Jen says:

    The words on these pages have touched me, will always be a part of me. Thank you.

  3. lynn says:

    To everything there is a season,
    a time for every purpose under the sun…

    I’ll miss you this way. Thanks for everything you’ve given to all of your faithful readers. I hope sometime, somewhere: more down the line.

  4. Terrisita says:

    I’m sorry that this brief chapter has ended. However, I am glad I was along for the read. You are the only person that has remained consistent/inconsistent in my life…the one that has caused great reflection and remembrances, and the one that I can truly trust to bear our truths…despite the fall-out, in a fearless and fashionable way. This blog (oh Goddess, how I hate that word) has informed, challenged, inspired, and changed, the way I see, hear, feel and experience so much of my world…(and yes, the worlds of others). I am grateful, awestruck, and humbled, that a woman I have known for so many years (you do the math!) has the talent and the propensity to evolve and devolve into this amazing place (“how sweet, the sound”…not to appropriate that “Christian” mantra.) has managed to evoke so many important, intellegent, and delightful thought pictures for those of us who appreciate your prose.
    Gracie, Bella!! (Catch you on the flip-side!!)

Comments are closed.