Day three: Taking a deep breath and plunging in

Today’s post is brought to you by the letter Y.

Y stands for YES! It also stands for Yikes!

It might be madness to say yes, but I didn’t think of that at the time. I stopped thinking; halted brain cell connections from being made and told the editor via email that I’ll write the feature article.

Hitting send was tough. Saying yes is a commitment. But I didn’t think about that. I hit send. I cannot take it back.

I thought about not being able to rescind my yes, and started to fret. A good way to manage fretting is to focus on putting together a plan. Which I will do. Tomorrow. The plan is generally the same. Research, research, talk to people, do some interviews, sit with the stuff, get an idea of direction, tone, key message and talk it over with the client or editor. Then start writing, and keep writing til there’s a draft that meets word count requirement. Leave it for two days  and then go back, rewrite, edit and then give it to someone to read, incorporate feedback, rewrite, edit and finesse until it’s deadline time and then send it in.

But that’s tomorrow’s work. The remainder of today? Sit with the fact that I said yes to something I have long said no to doing — writing about something I don’t write about and don’t know much about.

I’ve got more fretting to do I think.

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.