How reading saved me and helped me meet my deadline


~~

The deadline loomed like a fire-breathing dragon over my shoulder. Or a swarm of flying monkeys. I am more afraid of flying monkeys than I am of a huge fire-breathing dragon; however, greater than my fear of flying monkeys a la The Wizard of Oz, is messing up on my iron-clad contract with an American magazine to provide a column to the editor to a specific deadline, meaning: on time. After all it was an American mind that brought those flying monkeys to life to haunt my nightmares. Goodness knows what American lawyers could do…

Meanwhile back on the ground and reality, me meeting the deadline wasn’t looking good. I wondered what on earth was happening that for the first time in my writing life, I couldn’t produce. It wasn’t for lack of trying: the old show up and do the work just wasn’t working. I was producing pure, unadulterated crap.

So I took a break, made a chewy espresso and read some more. And somewhere in my reading, I ran across a reference and because my superhero outfit has GoogleGirl written all over it, I went online to check the reference and read this:

“Corita Kent’s Rules of Art:

Rule #8: Don’t try to create and analyse at the same time. They’re different processes.”

<sound of hand slapping own forehead> Of course! Silly me!

Reading helped me meet my writing deadline. Or maybe it loosened something. Either way, I delivered.

Saved by reading. Again.

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.