It’s work.

~~

If you have to find devices to coax yourself to stay focused on writing, perhaps you should not be writing what you’re writing. And if this lack of motivation is a constant problem, perhaps writing is not your forte. I mean, what is the problem? If writing bores you, that is pretty fatal. If that is not the case, but you find that it is hard going and it just doesn’t flow, well, what did you expect? It is work; art is work.

Ursula K. Le Guin

found at http://www.advicetowriters.com/home/2011/10/9/art-is-work.html

~~

So, there are different kinds of writing, like the writing I do for me, which is the writing I want to do and the writing I get paid to do, some of which I want to do and some of which is well, writing I get paid to do by clients who do not understand that thinking takes time, and that copyediting and proofreading pages and pages of messy, confusing content is not going to produce readable copy when what’s required is a total re-write with new content provided by the client. Apparently, that is not going to happen.

I am communing with the writing gods and goddesses on how to approach this since I neither want to disappoint a client nor do I want to give it away for free: I’m NOT that kind of woman. Expectation management: a client gives you stinky stuff and expects it to come out smelling like Hermes cologne. Sadly, my days of conjuring magic to make the impossible happen ended a few lifetimes ago.

Will be interesting in terms of how I choose my words to tell the client again what I have said all along and which the client agrees needs to be done, but won’t do because of time and budget constraint.

Speaking of choosing words: did you hear that some parents object to their fat and obese children being described by a doctor in medical reports as being  fat or obese? Hello? Fat, obese and morbidly obese are medical conditions. Not hefty or chunky as some parents want to call it. Apparently, words matter. Now how about some healthy eating and exercise and parental involvement?

Which is why I like Le Guin’s quote. The plain truth, plainly spoken in simple, clear language.

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.