A day in the life of a writer

~~~

There it is, in my inbox: a note from the magazine editor. First the good news: the magazine continues to do exceptionally well and is climbing the international magazine charts. This success is creating more demand and this greater demand is translating into more distributers and that means changes to the magazine’s distribution schedule for electronic and hard copy.

Then the other news: a changed distribution schedule means a changed production schedule and a changed production schedule means that deadlines for final proofs has changed and that means final copy is needed sooner by many days; as in, (let’s talk about me shall we?) I have an earlier and therefore less flexible deadline within which to get final copy to her.

I read the note with widening eyes. Pushed-up deadline? Oh no. Less time to write. Less time to produce something brilliant.

She says she hopes that the changed timeline isn’t a problem but if it is, can I please let her know because she’s sure she can come up with something to fill the space. My space.

Problem? Not at all. As much as I might be drumming my fingers and mainlining dark chocolate and espresso <harumph> I do not miss a hard deadline. And I certainly do not miss a hard deadline for work that carries my byline.

Besides, if CERN is ready to announce its findings on the existence of the Higgs boson, surely I can meet a deadline that’s been pushed up. Now all I need is that little thing to write about that I like to call, a better idea than the one I currently have.

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A day in the life of a writer

  1. Valerie says:

    What are you doing reading comments??
    You have a deadline !!
    Go go Go !!! 😉

Comments are closed.