Those Abandoned Places

Cities, mines, tracks, amusement parks, buildings, rooms, trains and planes and ships and cars and tires, cell phones, computers, wires and plastic. The detritus we make left in place as they fell, as they landed, as they existed in that eternal moment of being abandoned, as they were when what was alive and moving and thriving and breathing vanished, disappeared, transported, relocated, moved to parts unknown, merged with other life forces, walked away and into some place new. Nothing left but what remains: monuments, no memories. Blood and sweat and tears: invisible DNA of the madness of creation, disavowed.

Enter the gods of the elements, that which persists and succeeds in breaking down fabrications, lifting the paint, scorching the ground. A never-ending process to wipe away the colour, petrify the wood, degrade the leather, rust the steel, impede entrances, spread layers of dust and dirt, disperse and absorb and repurpose energy of unheard stories, unwhispered hopes and invisible loves; the moments that muffle the sounds and let in streaks of light and wild winds, water filling, washing away and leaving pools full of new life forms.

Enter the Empress of Time, elegant enabler who echoes across the ages: all that is abandoned is taken by the nature of its creator.

in Turkey

Ruins in Sorrento, Italy

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween. On hiatus from writing anywhere else but here ... at least for now.
This entry was posted in Life, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Those Abandoned Places

  1. I chose you as one of my favorite bloggers, i.e., recipient of the Versatile Blogger Award:
    http://dilapidatedfarmhouse.com/2011/12/24/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Happy Holidays!

    • FS says:

      Dear DF: I think you’ve left me wordless…! I might need some time to hunt around for more appropriate words to say that are better than WOW! and Really? or okay, I’m going to blush. Thank you, and thank you for letting me know. Have a warm, wonderful and safe holiday.

    • FS says:

      Dear Dilapidated Farmhouse: Happy New Year :-). And Happy Chinese New Year — Year of the Water Dragon — which is supposed to be good in many ways.

      I am not only going to thank you again for the nomination, but am now going to focus on addressing the award criteria. So, let’s see: I have said thank you. I have linked to you and to the VB site. Okay, time for me to tell you (because you nominated me) seven things about me, one of which is not true:

      1. I live in Toronto, Canada.
      2. I have two dogs: a standard black poodle and a little rescue dog that’s originally from the US: some sort of terrier mix.
      3. I operate a safe house for misplaced apostrophes.
      4. Choosing one favourite thing is impossible for me to do: I am not programmed for either/or.
      5. I was in the reserves for a time, went through basic training and learned how to shoot a rifle and a submachine gun. Unfortunately, during target practice, I somehow managed to shoot a mouse. I was devastated.
      6. My name is Frances.
      7. I like listening and observing far more than talking and reading more than writing, with the caveat that writing is rather important to me.

      The next part of the criteria — naming 15 excellent bloggers — is something I will do in a post.

  2. terrisitagg says:

    Bleak, yet brilliant. The images, as well as the words that weave them are terrible and beautiful.

  3. Valerie says:

    Great collection of photos and an inspiring post… You are such a poet! Almost reassures me that Earth will be OK, whatever we (stupid) humans do…

    • FS says:

      Earth will be okay… of that I am confident. Humans, at least the ones who are not stupid… and I do believe that’s most of us, have a lot of work to do to make sure of that.

  4. Jen says:

    I’ve heard that there’s no such thing as coincidence. In the strictest definition there are times when two or more events coincide, so, there is such a thing. I believe there’s nothing spiritual about events happening simultaneously and yet I find myself experiencing and pondering these coinciding events more and more lately.

    I’ve been reading “The Swerve: How the World Became Modern” by Stephen Greenblatt. It’s the story of a fifteenth century scribe finding and saving; “On the Nature of Things” by Lucretius, which at the time was nearly fifteen hundred years old and forgotten.

    Though it’s a story about preservation, it has caused me think about all that hasn’t. In your more elegant words, “…all that is abandoned is taken by the nature of its creator.”

    Here we are, you and I, taking completely different paths, twenty hundred and something years later pondering the same things at the same time.

    Surprising or not so surprising?

    • FS says:

      Perhaps there’s a confluence of consciousness, awareness and communication about such things? Where the planets are hanging out in the skies?

Comments are closed.