Love in all its forms

found on tumblr.com

It’s snowing. It’s snowing on Valentine’s Day. Whoever said that Toronto averages about 303 days of sunshine forgot to mention that averages are, for the most part, non-existent: average is an in-between number, an imaginary friend designed specifically for adults and policy makers who need imaginary friends and imaginary average citizens. But I digress: back to Valentine’s Day.

Roses are emblematic of love. Red for passion, white for purity, yellow for friendship. Roses in bunches, or more exotic flowers: wild ginger, or bird of paradise perhaps? No. No cut flowers, thanks. They die and have to be thrown out, not to mention slav(ish) labour and environmentally unhealthy growing conditions.

Amazing dark chocolate is always welcome. On the other hand, maybe a little something for Valentine’s that’s atypical with fewer calories, and less fat, less sugar? You see, a few weeks ago I called my (not in a possessive way) valentine to say, “Love, I hope you don’t mind but I just found out about this. I tried calling you but you weren’t available and I am quite keen to go so I went ahead and registered and got two tickets to see Lemony Snicket. Would you like to go?…” and then added somewhat sheepishly that it was on Valentine’s Day.

I waited and waited for what seemed like forever but was really only a second or two.

“Sounds interesting. Sure. By the way, who’s Lemony Snicket?”

“A writer.”

If we go, it’ll be the fourth time. Listening to authors.

My writing’s been slow lately. And because it’s been slow, I have surrounded myself with more books and have grown curious about authors of books, wanting to hear more directly from them, outside of biographies and radio interviews. It’s been somewhat enlightening listening to authors.

Over the airwaves, I felt a smile. I sniffed love. “Okay.”

Mixing loves on Valentine’s Day. Writing. Writers. Words. Love. Learning. Humanity.

We’ll sit close and hold hands and listen and later, sipping a wee bit of something we brought back from Poitiers, France, we’ll have a meandering, fascinating conversation about it all that is in no way average.

Happy Valentine’s Day.

found on tumblr.com

found on tumblr.com

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love in all its forms

  1. What a wonderful idea! Mixing all your loves together…but, sadly I’m afraid my SO doesn’t share my passion for books or writing. But, we are going to have a romantic dinner, so all is well! Have a happy Valentine’s day.

    • FS says:

      Dear CC: Thank you :-). It sounds as if your SO has a passion for you, and you come with a passion for books and writing — which means all is well. Thanks for popping ’round!

Comments are closed.