Missing: metaphors

Toronto graffit under the DOn River Bridge

I’m looking for a metaphor. Actually, maybe 200 or so. I don’t know how many are gone but I can’t find any so I’m guessing all of them.

Gone are the silly, luscious, colourful, insightful and succinct metaphors stored in the prison of my thinking mind.

I need my metaphors. The ones I built and shaped and learned and created out of the experience of my life and used with mindful awareness as the occasion or situation or person required.

My missing metaphors were last seen hoboing it (old definition) along the rusty, dusty railway tracks of over-used clichés. Rumour has it that they want to find an underground circus to call home and give up metaphoring forever.

Sure, I could go skulking around to those back-alley metaphor designers who push big-box-branding metaphors and get some market-researched and focus-grouped yet insipid and limp metaphors, but that’s not how the world of my metaphors roll. Besides, it’s not possible to make new metaphors who know me with the same depth and ability and polish and storytelling effects as the metaphors I created. Is it?

I don’t care what trouble they’re in, what bad deeds they’ve done, or why. I want them back. I need them back. If you see them, my metaphors, wrapped in public personas which are a happy mix of sometimes introverted, often cheeky, sometimes wise and sometimes quite goofy and everything in-between all that, tell them to go home. How can I think cancer if my metaphors are missing?

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween. On hiatus from writing anywhere else but here ... at least for now.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Words, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Missing: metaphors

  1. tinababab says:

    When the time is right we want to hear from you again. Your writing is very compelling and your insights help us.

  2. terrisitagg says:

    So good to see you again. As for those old, comfy metaphors…I think they may have lit out for parts unknown, temporarily. They’ll be back, they always are, but maybe they’ve had a collective stroke of insight, and want to make room for the young’uns. They’ve trod the old ground, the familiar trails, and have stood the test of time…but you know how it is with kids. New fangled ideas, new ways of saying what we know, testing the parameters. Sometimes the old has to give way to the new. They’ll be back. They just need to familiarize themselves with this “new world”. xo

  3. Jen says:

    Perhaps, a posse should be established? Though, friends could help round the strays up easily enough without the need for all that organizational bother-that club comes together effortlessly. I’ll keep my eyes peeled. (((hugs)))

  4. LPF says:

    Maybe they are just silent because they know there is nothing they can say…
    This is one of the loveliest examples of burying the lead I’ve read.

  5. bartolum2 says:

    Thank you for writing to us again. We have missed you.

Comments are closed.